Happy Winter’s Solstice!

I may be a day late with this, but Happy Winter’s Solstice, everybody!!! I don’t know about you, but to me winter is all about the snow, and this transplanted Philadelphian sometimes misses a nice winter snowstorm. To me, nothing says winter and snowfall (and the holiday season) better than “The Waltz Of The Snowflakes” from Tchaikovsky’s classic “The Nutcracker Suite.” I love the lilting, gentle simplicity of this piece — it’s like sitting at your ice-frosted window on a cold winter’s night, watching the snow fall down.

Also like a snowfall, I love how everything is colored in shades of chilly whites and blues, and I love how the piece rises and falls in intensity. But at the end, when the sweet voices of the boy’s choir rise, and the orchestra swells, and it all blends into one magnificent crescendo, and Clara and the handsome Prince ride away in the sleigh followed by Herr Drosselmeyer, his purple robe flowing, I get head rushes every time!

Happy Winter’s Solstice, everybody!!!

About Stephen Kelly

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Christmas, Music, Video and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Winter’s Solstice!

  1. Pat says:

    What a wonderful way to celebrate a day with a second or two more of daylight. We even have a sunny day – which does extend the appearance of daylight. Thanks.

  2. Here in my hemisphere they keep shaving daylight off! I guess it’s all uphill from here!

  3. Angeline M says:

    Woudn’t it be incredible if it snowed in San Francisco? Ah, well, in the meantime your enjoyment of the musical/ballet version of snow will have to do.

  4. petit4chocolatier says:

    Beautiful Stephen!! Gorgeous colours :)
    I feel as if I am in a dream!

  5. viveka says:

    “The Nutcracker Suite.” is one of my favorite Christmas items … living close London in Brighton for quite a few years – that was my Christmas present to myself every year – Royal Opera House and Ballet … and the Nutcracker. Stunning beautiful to watch and listen too. My favorite is the Waltz of the Flowers. Thanks for bringing memories back. Merry, Christmas …

Leave a Reply

