The Enigmatic Art of Joe Sorren

The Dance Of All Hallows Eve

Joe Sorren is a NYC-based artist whose work has been called dreamy, slightly impressionistic, slightly surreal, and completely endearing. His characters with their small eyes lost in their huge faces seem to communicate complex feelings, something between serenity and melancholy. He uses a delicious palette of rich luxurious colors to represent characters both whimsical and enigmatic.

His artwork has appeared in various publications, including The New Yorker, Time and Rolling Stone and Warner Bros. and Atlantic Records have also used his art. While he’s renowned as a painter, he’s equally skilled at sculpture. Welcome to the wistful world of Joe Sorren.

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Art, Weekly Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Enigmatic Art of Joe Sorren

  1. Andrew says:

    This guy is awesome! If he hasn’t made a childrens book, then he should.

    • hi andrew, and thanks for stopping by. i do not believe he has illustrated a children’s book … it seems logical, doesn’t it? I’d like to see animations of some of his work. it would be cool to see it come alive.

  2. I love these!! Really beautiful and wistful…

  3. Madhu says:

    Love them too! Particularly like ‘Human Again’.

  4. ilargia64 says:

    Hy Stephen!!!
    I really LOVE this….It is so different and nice, and sweet….Looks childish, but has inside a very intelligent work….Love the use of colour (eg: “The Dance of all Hallows Eve”), the ability to create an ambiance (eg: “In the Morning”: with the girl, the shy and sad little boy(?), and the fluffy dog(?)), or the capacity to humanize shapeless forms (eg: “Because of Toast”: you can not avoid to hit it off with “its” excitement and happiness because of the nice toast that is coming….
    GREAT!!!

    • Hi Ilargia, and thanks for stopping by! I know what you mean … I love the fact that a lot of his subjects are shapeless blobs, and somehow they project great feelings of happiness, as in “Toast.” And I just love the colors in “Dance Of All Hallow’s Eve.” I’m glad you liked his work, because he’s one of my faves!

  5. Stephen, There’s something very child-like in these pictures, even in ones which have a somewhat threatening quality like “By Day I Dream of Night.” I assume he’s done much more work, too, than what is here? Once again, you’ve found something beautiful and strange to put on a slide show.

    • Hello Victoria! I find his work to have a real dreamlike quality as well, so maybe that’s why even the threatening images don’t seem quite so threatening. Yes, he’s done a lot of work, more than I could put in this gallery. But I really love his work. I find a lot of it to be quite touching.

  6. Suzanne says:

    I haven’t seen this artist’s work before. I agree his work does does have a wonderful dreamlike quality – more whimsical than threatening.

  7. mariannegv says:

    Wow! I really love this work. The worlds he creates are fantastic. I didn’t know about Joe Sorren, so thanks for letting me know his art.

  8. Pingback: The Macabre Art of Esao Andrews | Stephen Kelly Creative

Leave a Reply

