Animal Kingdom: The Beastly Art of Martin Wittfooth

The bewildering landscapes of Scottish artist Martin Wittfooth truly leaves viewers guessing. His bleak, post-apocalyptic visions are littered with burning buildings and degradation, literally a society in decay. But amongst this darkness are signs that new life exists and is already growing, the proverbial circle of life, suggesting that perhaps these current inhabitants are not long lived. In the meantime, howler monkeys rule, cats are blind and massive octopi drape themselves over underwater apartment buildings. What happened here? Where are the humans? Is this life to come, or a glimpse of what once was? Answering these questions is part of the allure of delving deeper into the intriguing art of Martin Wittfooth.

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Art, Weekly Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Animal Kingdom: The Beastly Art of Martin Wittfooth

  1. Wow, how interesting… and dark. Yes, the humans are noticeably missing. Are we self-destructing, even at this very moment?

  2. cocomino says:

    They are really interesting. The animals are real..

  3. drewpan says:

    Omigod it’s Cthulu!

    I like this stuff, it’s really dark and surreal. I think my favorites are the creepy cat with the roses and the lamb with the trees growing out of its head.

    • Hey Drew … yep, really dark. I’ve always had a thing for giant tentacled beasts (but I hate calamari … weird), so I really love the piece that I lead this post off with (“Babylon”). For some reason, I find that one mesmerizing, like maybe you’re seeing it from one of those little one-man subs.

  4. Madhu says:

    Amazing stuff! Bit unsettling too with their inherent apocalyptic symbolism.

Leave a comment