Beautiful Nightmares: The Angelic Art of Nicoletta Ceccoli

There’s a lot more than meets the eye in the intriguing work of Italian artist Nicoletta Ceccoli. At first glance the surreal worlds she creates seem like a fairy tale, but a darker narrative lies just under the surface, striking an uneasy balance between angelic and disturbing. Closely scrutinizing her work can inspire deeper questions, as each painting is rife with symbolism. Surrealism, fantasy, magic, strange creatures and beautiful doll-like characters – there’s lot to see in the weird and wonderful world of Nicoletta Ceccoli.

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Art, Weekly Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Beautiful Nightmares: The Angelic Art of Nicoletta Ceccoli

  1. drewpan says:

    Nice! This stuff is borderline Tim Burton nursery rhyme books… though that opening picture with the tentacles coming out for the little girl is kinda Japanese, if you know what I mean!

    Where do you come across all these artists?

    • Hey Drew! Through my past life as an art director in advertising design I became familiar with a lot of artists through promotional packets or the magazine Communication Arts (THE Bible of the creative world, especially their annuals), and I hired and worked with a lot of them. So a lot of the work I present on my blog are old favorites.
      But I also subscribe to a lot of art/pop culture blogs and websites, too many to mention here. I will say that Hi Fructose Magazine and the iPad app Zite are two huge sources for cool and exciting new art.
      Living in San Francisco is an advantage too, as there are a lot of very cool independent downtown galleries that display awesome art free of charge. I take full advantage of that.
      Also, I run across a lot of cool new artists whose work I’ve never seen as I do research for my own blog posts. I like to bookmark those and explore them later.
      Wow, got a little long-winded there … must be in a writing mood. Anyway, hope that kind of answers your questions. I’ll send you interesting links that I’ve bookmarked if you like. Great minds think alike, dude!!!

      • drewpan says:

        That has the potential to become an incredible time-sink, so I’ll just depend on your regular updates of cool artists!

        SF sounds like a really nice place for that. Singapore is like a police-state when it comes to art, because Big Brother has his own tastes.

  2. starscraper99 says:

    Looks like the art of Dr. Seuss! Love it 🙂

  3. Love love love loooove your artistic proposals! The first reason why i followed your blog the first time i saw you is “The Popsurrealist Art of Scott Musgrove” ! Amazing! Just the way i like it! Thank you for sharing!

    • Hey Ioanna!!! Wow … how cool is that!?! Thanks!!!
      Sounds like we have the same tastes … seems like we both have an affinity for skewed, surreal worlds. I’ll have to ask my therapist what that means — hehe. Anyway, glad you like the artists I’ve been presenting. oh, and there’s plenty more where those came from!!!

  4. I absolutely love it. It fits my mood right now. I want to show them to my five year old niece, she is a little goth, I know she will like them. I wonder if prints are available?

    • Hi there … may I call you bluebutterfly? It makes me happy to know that people connect so solidly with the art I present on my blog, and I really appreciate all the ‘likes.’ I really hope your niece loves them as much as you and I do.

  5. Fergiemoto says:

    Very cool!! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Great posting. I had been checking consistently that blog site that i’m satisfied! Really helpful data specially the supreme component 🙂 I actually take care of such information very much. I had been in search of this kind of selected information and facts for years. Many thanks and greatest involving good luck.

  7. Pingback: Pinned Up | Tricia Sankey

Leave a Reply

