Travel Theme: Sign

This sign at Sixth and Howard Streets in San Francisco asks the universal question. Do you have an answer?

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Ailsa’s Travel Theme, Photography, San Francisco, Stephen Kelly Photography, Travel, Travel Theme and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Travel Theme: Sign

  1. Angeline M says:

    My answer is…why not.

  2. There’s an old philosophy discipline tale that every now and then someone dusts off and retells. Here’s how it goes: After a hard semester of intense reading in many complex and difficult philosophy texts, a professor only posed one question on the test, for the entire value of the exam points: “‘Why?'” Most of the students wrote and wrote, bit their pencils, nibbled their pens, scratched their heads, and handed in page after page of exam text, each more or less satisfied that he or she had answered the question adequately. One student only had put his name on the top of the exam paper, looked at it briefly, and then scribbled something on it and handed it in, leaving the room in a relaxed attitude. When the exam results were published, the students couldn’t help but notice that the student who left the room was the only one who got an “A.” They asked him, “What did you answer to the question: ‘Why?'” He grinned and said, “‘Why not?'”

  3. Always ask yourself why and why not. The things you do in life, the people you meet, the events that happen, there’s always that big question of WHY? Why did I land this job? Why am I blogging? Why did I meet this person? In school I remember reading something that “Why” is equivalent to complaining. However, for me, it’s one of the biggest questions people should really ask themselves for even the sake of self-evaluation.

    Oh, and love the street art!

  4. Great question, great wall art, fascinating photo! I like shadowoperator’s story… 🙂

  5. Lovely street art and a great photo!
    learning and teaching to ask “why” leads to encouraging curiosity, love of knowledge, critical thinking, constant search for better answers, skeptical and reflective thinking.
    Thank you for joining my blog!
    Sara

  6. drewpan says:

    A: To get to the other side!

  7. cocomino says:

    I’m not sure why you ask “why.”

  8. Madhu says:

    Why what was my thought too 🙂 The best sign I have seen so far!

    • Thanks madhu … I actually had a few other shots in mind, but I caught this scene this past Saturday on one of my photowalks. As soon as I saw it I thought “perfect.” Sometimes cool little gifts just fall into your lap!

  9. Because we must. No one said it would be easy…

  10. Jo Bryant says:

    this is definitely one of my favourites of the challenge Stephen

  11. ailsapm says:

    Brilliant, Stephen, love the sign, love the photo! My answer would have to be: “just because.” Wonderful anecdote from shadowoperator too. 🙂

    • Hey Ailsa … thank you for offering such a great forum, this week and every week. I really loved the Sign challenge, and I thought some of the interpretations were very clever and creative. It’s awesome that your photo challenge has taken off.
      Yes, shadowoperator really helped put an excellent exclamation point on the point of my post.

Leave a Reply

