Weekly Photo Challenge: Merge

Merging fashion, art, music, cinema and pop culture — that’s the amazing designs of fashion icon Jean Paul Gaultier, here seen at a major exhibit of his work at San Francisco’s DeYoung Museum in May 2012.

     

     

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Fashion, Photography, San Francisco, Stephen Kelly Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Merge

  1. Fabulous interpretation – the mix of art and fashion was, I presume, also mixed in with music during the actual show? Very cool imagery. Thanks!

    • oh, of course, and one room was wall to wall video screens showing clips from the films and videos he’s dressed. Also, notice how the mannequins in the top and bottom shots have faces. Projectors mounted into the ceiling projected faces onto many of the mannequins, so they looked like they were talking, smiling, crying, singing. Speakers inside of them gave them voices, most in French. It was pretty amazing.

  2. Myra GB says:

    Artsy fartsy indeed! 🙂

  3. petit4chocolatier says:

    I love the art merge with fashion; beautiful!

  4. eof737 says:

    Excellent shots… I love fashion art photos. 😉

    • Me too … and I was amazed that they actually allowed photography in the exhibit. I’ve found that most museums can be militant about photography, so I was really happy to be able to take shots with being sneaky about it.

      • eof737 says:

        That is awesome! Lucky you. I’ve had to be swift with my photos at every fashion exhibit I’ve attended because of the militancy… The photos I got were worth the memory but not the headache. 😆 I so get it. 🙂

  5. Thank you for sharing this. It must have been wonderful to see and listen to in person.Your photos give a true sense of being there. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  6. Madhu says:

    These are just too cool Stephen! Great take on the challenge 🙂

  7. Love the post and loved the exhibit. I have my photos from the exhibit loaded to do a post. More to come. Best, David

Leave a Reply

