Space Oddity: The Hyperrealistic Art Of Jeremy Geddes

At first glance, the oil paintings of Melbourne, Australia-based artist Jeremy Geddes don’t look like paintings at all. Rather, an exceptional command of light, movement, composition and tension combine to give his work incredible detail and photo-like realism. Like any great surrealist, this amazingly detailed style helps blur the line between reality and illusion, challenging the viewer’s perception of both.

Geddes’ work generates a tension between man-made environments in flux and the fragility of living bodies. His paintings depict figures suspended in desolate urban landscapes or fractured environments that are in the process of falling apart. The figures themselves look as if they are falling to earth from space. Complex works such as “Pale Memory” and “A Perfect Vacuum” are often contrasted by smaller paintings (“Redemption”, the “Miserere” and “Cosmonaut” series) that feature a single subject isolated in a solid black or white plane. Deconstruction seems to be his thing. His painting also depict intense loneliness, isolation and loss of self-identity, perhaps the downside of living in an increasingly technological society.

When asked how he formulates the ideas for his surrealist work, Geddes said, “I don’t think that painting is a great medium to express coherent 
and fully formed ideas, and so I tend not to think along those lines. Instead, I’m more interested in
 creating images that are dissonant to some degree, which set up situations that the viewer has
 to resolve. I think the strength of a painting comes in how much or little information the painter 
gives to the viewer to aid that resolution.”

Ladies and gentlemen, is it real, or is it the amazingly detailed paintings of Jeremy Geddes? Judge for yourself.

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Art, Weekly Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Space Oddity: The Hyperrealistic Art Of Jeremy Geddes

  1. viveka says:

    Wow …. What else can I say .. first I thought it was photos … adrift is my favorite. Stunning work – not really a painting person … love photos on my walls because it is something more alive, but I wouldn’t mind – adrift. Thank you so much for sharing.

  2. Danny says:

    These are so life like — very cool! The minute I saw them, they reminded me of a Japanese photographer who shoots photos of herself in “levitation” — literally jumping at the right time/angle to make it look so effortlessly as if she were levitating. Check out her photos if you’re not familiar with her…
    http://yowayowacamera.com

  3. petit4chocolatier says:

    Fascinating! I feel as if I am free falling within photography : )

  4. Impybat says:

    These paintings are mind blowing. Great post and find, as usual!

  5. Angeline M says:

    Fabulous! When I first saw the intro, I thought it was a photo. Incredible painter.

  6. Madhu says:

    Wow indeed! Cluster is fascinating! Wonder whether he uses models or conjures these up from imagination.

  7. ilargia64 says:

    Hi Stephen!!! It is funny…Just what Jeremy says about giving info the the viewer…Yesterday an Spanish writer was saying just exactly the same thing about his works…
    Talking about Geddes work..As the others, at the beginning I thought there were pics…And after looking through all of them it is still fascinating..The way he works the light, for instance, in “Room”…My favorite is “The Mystery of Eilean Mor”…I love the composition, the light, the wings coming at the back of the old captain, the loneliness that surround him…Wonderful!
    Thanks a lot for sharing this with us!

    • Hi Ilargia64. Agreed, I think “The Mystery of Eilean Mor” is my favorite as well. I love the way he uses light and composition in all of his work. His eye for detail is amazing! Glad you liked this collection.

  8. You’re right, it’s really odd how so many of these paintings look like photos. Do you think (or know whether or not) he used actual photos in any part of the painting process?

    • He uses photographs that he takes for the inspiration of the settings of his work (rooms, building, streets) but these are all straight ahead paintings. He doesn’t use layering to merge the two forms. His scope of imagination is astonishing, don’t you think?

  9. adinparadise says:

    These works are amazing. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  10. ideflex says:

    And in oils, no less. This is what painting should be about in the 21st century, not some of the abstract Wall Street sponsored schlock that is being touted as art… Hats off to a modern master, may he get the credit he deserves.

  11. I thought they were photos!!! When I read your post, I was like, “What! They’re paintings?!” To be able to make a painting look like an actual photo is genius. I mean, wow. I want to see the paintings in person! They really, really look like photos. I swear. I want to have a favorite but I can’t exactly pinpoint which one I like best because they’re all very detailed. Wow. (I can’t stop saying wow, lol).

    Thanks for sharing his works! 🙂

    • Hi there, Rambling Philosopher. Cool! Glad you like his amazing work. I second that! I would love to see his work up close and personal. I actually want to hang one on my wall, although, like you, I still can’t choose a fave! They’re all so astonishing!

  12. Jo Bryant says:

    Amazing Stephen. What a mind he must have – I would love to explore we he goes with his imagination

  13. kz says:

    this is beyond beautiful! i actually thought they were photos. thanks for sharing these. wow

  14. Pingback: Multiple Visions: The Space Age Art of Alec Huxley | Stephen Kelly Creative

  15. Reblogged this on Hack Your Startup and Yourself and commented:
    In recent years, piece after piece, Jeremy Geddes continues to create some of the most visually striking and compelling art of our day. If you’re not yet familiar, you’re in for a treat:

Leave a Reply

