Ordinary World: The Abstract Paintings of Guy Yanai

Splash On Failed Painting

Tel Aviv-based painter Guy Yanai creates bold, dynamic paintings that suffuse his experience of the everyday world with a graphic intensity. Addressing the material trappings of contemporary life, his paintings depict mundane subjects such as the interior of his therapist’s office and his own home, flattening and abstracting them in a way that make them seem removed and objective, leaving a graphic imprint of the everyday. And while his paintings are simplistic, bold and colorful, there’s a certain drama to each of them.

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the abstract world of Guy Yanai.

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Art, Weekly Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Ordinary World: The Abstract Paintings of Guy Yanai

  1. Angeline M says:

    I love his colors, each painting is so vibrant.I love them all.

  2. Pat says:

    I think Yanai is the most interesting artist you have featured. I love the detail and composition of his paintings – and of course the colors are clear and bright.

  3. Has he been featured on any magazine covers? I could swear that I had seen something like his art on the front of a newsstand kiosk somewhere, maybe on a “New Yorker” or etc. cover. It’s not abstract in the ordinary sense, because you can still “tell what it’s supposed to be.”

  4. viveka says:

    I really .. love the colors he are using .. dramatic, bold and playful – but I don’t agree with the art itself – to square for me … I wish you a great weekend.

  5. cocomino says:

    What a colorful and beautiful arts. 🙂 I like them.

Leave a Reply

