Multiple Visions: The Space Age Art of Alec Huxley

All These Weird Creatures Who Lock Up Their Spirits

This week I’m featuring the work of San Francisco-based painter, photographer and graphic designer Alec Huxley. I first saw his work at the Minna Gallery here in the city, and I was attracted to strong use of light and shadow, his clever play on retro-style film and advertisements,  and the fact that his work captures the streets of San Francisco in weird and fantastical settings.

Conceptually and stylistically, Huxley’s work bears a resemblance to that of Australian artist Jeremy Geddes, whose work I highlighted in October. Like Geddes, Huxley features people in astronaut suits presented in a style that blurs the line between photography and painting. But whereas Geddes works in his one inimitable style, Huxley displays an astonishing array of styles and influences, everything from space age astronauts in eerie, sometimes threatening urban settings to film noir to Saturday matinee creature features.

Filled with contrast, his work is primarily figurative. Bleak yet colorful, it focuses on urban and desert landscapes of the American West Coast and classic Americana. A sinister air hangs over much of his work, perhaps a nod to the pulp fiction noir that is an obvious influence. His work has a strong cinematic quality, and it would be interesting to see some of these scenes come alive.

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the space age art of Alec Huxley.

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Art, Weekly Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Multiple Visions: The Space Age Art of Alec Huxley

  1. cocomino says:

    What an nice art! They inspired me a lot.

  2. I have to confess that my favorites are “Day of the Tarantula,” “Dusk of the Vulture,” and “Night of the Jackalope,” you know, the ones with oversized animals in odd places. I don’t find myself quite so warm towards the other retro-stuff. Huxley shows a lot of variety, though.

    • Hi Victoria … sorry about the tardy reply. Those are my faves, too. I’m a sucker for that fifties sci-fi/noir stuff. At first I was attracted to his astronauts, but after a while there was a sameness to them. He shows a really wide range, though.

  3. Allan Smorra says:

    Stephen,
    Thanks for introducing us to this talented artist. I like his work – a lot.

  4. ideflex says:

    Reminds me a bit of sci-fi dustjackets from the late 50s, early 60s! Kinda cool…

  5. viveka says:

    Congratulation to the Freshly Pressed, when that happen ???? Wonderful new and so well deserved. Haven’t notice the badge before. Interesting young artist .. and very talent, but fare to bold and abstract for me. I found his art intriguing. Happy Easter.

  6. Andrew says:

    Restaurant Bar and sluts is awesome. These are great. Nice post!

Leave a Reply

