Less Is More: The Minimalism of Evah Fan

House-O-Rama

Maybe it’s just the mellow mood I’ve been in since returning from Sydney, but lately I’ve taken a departure from extreme surrealism in favor of a more minimal and dreamy but no less puzzling forms of art. The work of Berkeley, CA-based artist Evah Fan captures that look perfectly.

Fan’s delicate gouache paintings are at once narrative, poetical and minimalistic. Her sparse and colorful compositions contain elements of nonsense, mystery, and whimsy. Fan tackles mundane objects and figures in negative planes, throwing in elements of parody and irony that address a certain naïve humor.

According to the art and music website Hometapes, Evah Fan was born in Southern California in 1980, yet is fond of cold climates and is a big fan of the Cape Dorset Inuit artists. According to her Facebook page, her name pronounced in Swedish sounds like “what the hell.” Not surprising as she spent a few years living and creating in Stockholm before settling in the Bay Area. She has a whiny cat named Jalapeño “who is the man of the house.”

Ladies and gentlemen, the minimal weirdness of Evah Fan.

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Art, Weekly Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Less Is More: The Minimalism of Evah Fan

  1. Boy, oh boy, that’s really what I call minimalist! I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything so restrained.

  2. Drew says:

    Nice! I can never do anything so minimalist… I don’t have the self control.

  3. Pat says:

    I like how her mind works!

  4. ideflex says:

    They’re fun! Sometimes it’s a nice break not to have to think too hard about art…

  5. Paula says:

    She must have some weird dreams :D. I like that hugging pumpkin woman!

  6. viveka says:

    As Paula said here before me … she must have some wired dreams … for me is it a bit like taken the mickey of me as a viewer .. The Rat pack is just a joke … what is the art in that. A kid could have done this …

    • there ya go … a dissenting voice! that’s cool … it’s all in the eye of the beholder. i’m into the simplicity of her work … kind of the mood i’m in these days. i’ll be back to my old surrealist state in no time!

      • viveka says:

        I think with art is also fashion … I’m very much into … the old guys, like Rembrandt … I love how they have painted every little details in the laces .. like photo – but at home I only have my best photos blown up and very nicely framed on my walls.
        I think photos are must more alive then art – it’s a borrowed moment and is preserved for ever.
        No, her art … there was no softness … no feelings … in my eyes. As you say .. we can love all the same kind of art.

      • viveka says:

        Sorry, I meant “we can’t all love the same kind of art”

  7. akanedou says:

    Great art works…Thank you so much for sharing, Stephen!! These works have exquisite use of colors and layout. I love them!!

  8. Pingback: Go With The Flow: The Wavelength Art of The Brendan Monroe | Stephen Kelly Creative

Leave a Reply

