Dynamo Donuts: The Robotic Art of Eric Joyner

The Little Genius

Part of what I love about art, particularly surrealist art, is wondering what went on in the mind of the artist in the creation of a piece. I always wonder what mindsets were at work that produced such interesting, thoughtful, sometimes bizarre art. One hopes to glean a bit of information by looking between the lines of a piece, but when it comes to the robots and donuts of San Francisco-based artist Eric Joyner, I have no idea what’s going on behind the curtain.

Joyner, who has also done work for Electronic Arts, Mattel Toys, Warner Brothers, Hasbro, Microsoft and the San Francisco Chronicle, has had great success with his Robots and Donuts series that date back to 2000. But when asked in 2012 by the website Eclectix about his motivations, he replied, “Upon deciding to become a gallery artist, I had to make some rules, or guidelines. They were as follows: 1: I will only paint things I like; 2; The subject(s) had to be something that I could paint for 30 years; and 3: That people like it. Donuts & robots together make no sense. I find this interesting.”

That doesn’t necessarily clear things up, so the best you can do is sit back and enjoy the mystifying robots and donuts of Eric Joyner.

Caught Again

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Art, Weekly Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Dynamo Donuts: The Robotic Art of Eric Joyner

  1. larasolangon says:

    Fantastic gallery!

  2. viveka says:

    This I connect with …. bold and colorful, but some is a bit scary … but I love that “The Outer edge” & “Daydream.” Thanks for the introduction.

  3. Eric Joyner’s art reminds me a lot of 1950’s advertising art and television programming–how about you?

  4. ideflex says:

    Love the homage to Edward Hopper! This is great stuff…

  5. The Guat says:

    Nice dude. This is pretty cool art. Robots and Donuts … definitely pretty cool I like the Surfer Joe, Dynamo Donuts and the Detained art. It is pretty cool. Great post.

  6. Andrew says:

    Oh how I love robots.

  7. akanedou says:

    Completely expressionless robots seem to have feeling…These wonderful works are filled with playfulness and imagination.

  8. Pingback: The art of Eric Joyner | Midnight Corner

Leave a Reply

