Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Costume

costumes_1

Here in crazy ol’ San Francisco, people wear costumes all the time,
and it doesn’t even have to be Halloween!!!

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Ailsa’s Travel Theme, Photography, San Francisco, Stephen Kelly Photography, Travel Theme and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Costume

  1. Impybat says:

    This is rad on like a billion different levels. Why don’t I live here?!?

    • hey impybat … I had a feeling you’d like this one!
      yeah, why don’t you?
      so i’m on the bus today, noonish, and a guy gets on dressed like Wonder Woman. There wasn’t anything going in the city today on that warranted the wearing of costumes, so apparently it just felt like a good day to dress like Wonder Woman! The best part: with the exception of the Portugese tourists, no one batted an eye … just business as usual here in San Francisco!!!

  2. Where are the photos of people in the nude, Stephen? LOL! My best friend who lives in San Francisco says she often sees people riding around on bikes with no clothes on. That’s a costume of sorts, right? Love all your photos; that is one crazy city. 🙂

    • hehe … well, I thought of that, but for better or worse, about two months ago our city supervisors voted to put the clamps down on public nudity, and we all know how painful that can be. So naked guys strolling the streets have joined the gold miners, Seal Park, Herb Caen and Playland By The Sea as a part of San Francisco’s storied past. Of course, this also brought about cries about the further gentrification of San Francisco, but geez, have you seen some of those guys??? It ain’t pretty!!!

      • I haven’t seen them myself, Stephen, but I can only imagine. I think it’s probably a good thing to put the clamps on public nudity. Do people really need to bare all for the entire world to see?

  3. Madhu says:

    How fun! For them and for you 😀

    • Hi Madhu … nice to hear from ya! I might have said this before, but it’s the ‘never a dull moment’ aspect that I love the best about living in this incredibly interesting, always unpredictable city!!!

  4. viveka says:

    This is how I would image SF to be … most days *smile – great, wired and wonderful. Fantastic shots.

    • Hello Viveka! You got it! These types of scenes happen all the time, and most of the time people don’t even bat an eye. People here feel free to express themselves in any way they like … within (and sometimes just on the fringe of) reason. It’s an incredibly creative city and people here really embrace a real free-form spirit.

      • viveka says:

        I also have the picture of SF to be a creative city .. when I visit in 1989 – we didn’t click at all – but maybe I should give it another chance. Because I have seen your colorful photos – and I also think that the travel company had a big part in that I didn’t enjoy as maybe had done with someone else.
        Your photos have shown me a SF that I would click big time with.

        • Hi Viveka … that’s a shame. It sounds like you may have done a travel company package tour. Fundamentally, there’s nothing wrong with those if you want to see all the tourist attractions in a short amount of time. But they don’t give you a feel or a flavor for the real city. You need an insider to show you all the cool, interesting and colorful places, not the tourist traps. Then I think you might click!

          • viveka says:

            Yes, I know and that is why I sometimes love to travel on my own and do things in my own ways.
            I can’t say why it didn’t work out between SF and me, but I think the travel company was totally wrong.

  5. adinparadise says:

    What an amazing place is San Fran. 🙂

  6. restlessjo says:

    Easy to blend in! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Here Comes Santa Claus: SantaCon SF! | Stephen Kelly Creative

Leave a Reply

