Hello There: The Mixed Media of Wilson Hsu

Hello There

Hi everybody! After much discussion, debate, hand-wringing and hair pulling amongst my committee of one (that would be me and my multiple personalities), I’ve decided to move my Weekly Art Galleries from it’s traditional Thursday spot to Monday, a bold and daring approach that will allow me to devote the time to these posts that they deserve. As it is, I’ve been scrambling to be consistent and get them posted on time, especially as life and work intrude.

So let’s kick things off with the interesting surrealism of California-based Wilson Hsu, where sci-fi futurism meets strangely organic shapes meets bright, intoxicating colors with a yeti or two thrown in for good measure.

Bear #2Much like the work of Jason Jägel, who I featured back in January, Hsu’s art is dense and multi-layered; he packs a lot into a single illustration. As such, and again like the work of Jagel, the viewer is rewarded by repeat and deeper viewing. Incorporating the things that he loves and hates in this world, his work shows a strong grasp of scale, balance, rhythm, repetition, unity, proportion, shape, color and texture, and he employs lines in interesting and unexpected ways.

Featured in this group, however, are pieces from his latest collection, entitled “Superheroes,” whose simplicity mark a bold departure from most of the other work found here. It’s the color, bold lines and shapes, and sci-fi sensibility that give him away. Interestingly enough, Hsu creates his work digitally, working primarily with Photoshop, Illustrator and Flash, which he then prints out and paints over, giving his work a tactile yet somewhat unsettling effect.

Speaking of unsettling, welcome to the working week, and what better way to kick that off than with the art of Wilson Hsu?

 

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Art, Weekly Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Hello There: The Mixed Media of Wilson Hsu

  1. I have mixed feelings about this artist. While I like the sheer inventiveness of all the forms and creatures he puts in together, I’m not fond of his color schemes, and find some of his life forms “too angular” to be sympathetic. Is that weird, or what? I’m articulating things that are not genuinely acceptable forms of grievance, and I know it, but I have liked others you have featured better. But I’m glad to have seen him, because it gives me yet another artist to make comparisons about. Go figure.

    • No, you’re not being weird … I think the digital nature of his work brings about that ‘angular’ look, and that happens a lot with artists who use a digital foundation that they build upon with other formats. I’m not sure I’m a big fan of that kind of art (I was actually a little disappointed when I initially discovered that Wilson Hsu worked in that manner), but I think his ideas, concepts and yes, color schemes, are excellent.

  2. Angeline M says:

    I was so confused when I saw your post pop in yesterday….was it Thursday already? I’ll re-set my brain.
    Another intriguing artist you’ve introduced us to. Thanks.

  3. ideflex says:

    Yetis with space helmets! Great stuff.

  4. TBM says:

    Artists prove to me that there’s so much I’m missing when I look with my eyes. They help me see things I didn’t know were possible.

  5. Impybat says:

    Haha, I love that rabbit with the dagger! Also, space helmet Yetis…they’re so elusive, they probably *aren’t* of this Earth!

  6. Paula says:

    So, Monday will be a museum day for me too from now on 😉

  7. Paula says:

    The one entitled “Tea” is a winner for me … (shows family alienation), and I am also drawn to the one you featured on top. I would have connected more with his work, if we had shared the same “super heroes” growing up 😉

    • hey paula … agreed … being into superheroes enhances the enjoyment of his work. i like the organized chaos aspect to his work, and yes, i like superheroes! i really love the stark simplicity of that series, and how it plays off his other work, which can be a tad frenetic … just like life, i guess

Leave a Reply

