Pieced Together: The Collage Art of Julien Pacaud

XXI

I absolutely love collage art; it was one of the first art genres I remember really getting into as a kid. I just loved the way collage artists could take divergent images and make them work together in the service of a message or a story. Hence, I was understandably excited to recently discover the amazing collages of French artist Julien Pacaud.

According to his website, “Julien Pacaud is an artist and illustrator, currently living in Le Mans, France. Before becoming an illustrator, he was, by turns : an astrophysician, an international snooker player, a hypnotist and an esperanto teacher. He hopes he can someday have enough free time to devote himself to his real passion : time travel.”

Anonymous Calls From the FutureNow don’t know how much of that is true, and I’m sure deeper research may be required (as it turns out, none of it is). But real or imagined, his eccentric background might help to explain his surreal digital collages, which are somehow both retro and futuristic. He creates mesmerizing fictional spaces that welcome the viewer with a stirring clash of the strange and the familiar.

Trained in cinematography, Pacaud is heavily influenced by the enormous back catalogue of images from film and television, which he routinely raids for his own collage-style compositions. He concentrates particularly on retro visuals from the 1970s to the 1990s. His Magritte influences are obvious and a strong taste for the linear produces environments that playfully evoke the mythology of a not-too-distant future.

Ladies and gentlemen, let’s set the Way-Back Machine for straight into the future with the amazing collage art of Julien Pacaud!

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Art, Weekly Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Pieced Together: The Collage Art of Julien Pacaud

  1. What an amazing collection of images! I can’t begin to guess what thought was going through Pacaud’s mind even with the simplest of them. But I guess it was an image going through his mind and not a thought. Yet there have been some artists you have shown us who clearly had a didactic or other thought going through their minds with some of their images, to make a point, you know. But with Pacaud, I can’t begin, as I said, to imagine.

    • Hi Victoria. Really glad you liked this amazing collection. Like you, I cannot hazard to guess what the thought processes here are. His work kind of reminds me of the album cover art of Storm Thorgerson that I featured in April. I really like the strong design elements in both men’s work, and their really clever juxtaposition of images. Like you said, there must be a thought going on in there somewhere.

  2. Viveka says:

    Yes, I wonder what is in the head of an artist like this … can’t say I like the art – but still there is something intriguing about his art. A bit too wired for me … I need to think when I look at Julien’s pieces – and for me art are like entertainment – just to be thrilled and let float away with … not much thinking necessary. Thanks for sharing.

    • I see your point, viveka … his work can be challenging. i like the strong visuals and design element in his work, perhaps because of my background in graphic design. Still, as you say, intriguing.

  3. Paula says:

    This is my favourite among your featured artists so far … I can really identify 🙂 maybe cause he is French ;). Thank you, Stephen for a mind-blowing post and presentation!!!

  4. patriciamoed says:

    Excellent post! Thanks.

  5. Pingback: Cut and Paste: The Collage Art of Antonello Silverini | Stephen Kelly Creative

  6. I haven’t been this interested in article content like this in a long time. I appreciate all the effort you put into researching this. You’ve represented your viewpoint well and sparked interest in your readers.

Leave a Reply

