The Color and the Pattern: The Surreal Worlds of Deedee Cheriel

Episode of the Crystaline Atoll

Nalini ‘Deedee’ Cheriel is a Los Angeles-based painter whose work I just recently became acquainted and subsequently fascinated with. Her dynamic use of color and antediluvian shapes and patterns really struck a chord with the graphic designer in me, and her strange characters and settings have a surreality about them that I find irresistible — who’s not down with four-eyed cats, trees reading books, grinning tigers and bird-women riding winged horses into the sky?

Spirit of TopazCheriel’s paintings are about life, in particular human connection to the world and the ways we communicate with it. Her work is inspired by temple art from her native India and her extensive travels around the world. Mixing iconography, symbolism and mysticism together with her observations of human life and emotions she creates a vibrant visual platform, transforming these elements into stirring narratives.

Boldly colorful, her paintings have distinctive overtones of ancient Egypt, East Indian temple imagery, folk art, the Pacific Northwest natural environment, and cultural heritage; yet they are still contemporary in context. Her personal exploration of her Indian roots is reflected in the dualistic nature of her work. Symbolic animals, animalistic humans, color and pattern are used to portray a myriad of emotions and how we try to connect ourselves to others.

There’s a lot going on here, all of it fascinating, so ladies and gentlemen, take a stroll along the surreal landscapes of Deedee Cheriel.

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Art, Weekly Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Color and the Pattern: The Surreal Worlds of Deedee Cheriel

  1. Alex H says:

    Awesome……..Just Awesome Share.I love it.Looking forward for more.Alex,Thanks.

  2. What I notice the most about Cheriel’s work is the great number of trees, and wolf/bear/dog shapes in there. And yes, her work does markedly suggest the Pacific Northwest.

  3. Impybat says:

    So beautiful and strange! I love all the dog-headed people.

    • Impybat says:

      erm meant to say animal-headed! These works immediately reminded me of the thread on dog-headed people I read on the Fortean Times message boards.

  4. Forest So Green says:

    I really like her work. Thanks for introducing this artist to me, Annie

  5. Viveka says:

    The “cat” face painting I have seen before – but never know who the artist was. This I like very much – even if it’s a wired … and surreal, not really my style of art, but sometimes it speaks to me .. and this does big time. I could see a couple of her painting in my bedroom. *smile

  6. Jo Bryant says:

    these are wonderful Stephen

  7. pattimoed says:

    Cheriel’s work is fascinating–a combination of fantasy, mythology, and whimsy. Great post.

  8. Thanks for liking my closeup post. If you liked that and you like Cheriel’s work,you should checkout my postings about the graffiti (street art) found on the streets of Valparaiso in Chile posted in early April and I believe one posted at the end of March. There are more to come after I finish my Easter Island series. Cheers, Wooly

    • Hi, Wooly, and thanks for visiting my blog. Cool … I want to check that out, since I’m a big lover of street art.
      Just visited your blog … consider me a new follower! Looks very cool at first glance … looking forward to digging in deeper!

Leave a Reply

