Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour

Market and Castro

It’s July in San Francisco, and for we natives the golden hour(s) come between two and six o’clock in the afternoon. That’s when the temperatures have risen enough to push the fog back as far as Twin Peaks and Sutro Tower there in the distance. Then, for a few short, wonderful hours, the sun shines brightly and summer actually comes to The City. Until early evening, that is, when the fog comes rushing back in, just like clockwork.

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Photography, San Francisco, Stephen Kelly Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour

  1. Angeline M says:

    Love this, Stephen. I almost did my entry of the San Francisco Golden Hour with fog all around 🙂

  2. Thanks, Angeline. Taken just this afternoon at the MUNI bus stop at Market and Castro as I was waiting for the 37 Corbett to take me up there to fog shrouded Twin Peaks where I live.

  3. iarxiv says:

    The photo looks like a collage with the fog a border of a torn piece of paper – nice effect!

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour (At Sunrise on the Road) | What's (in) the picture?

  5. Jean Alaba says:

    Thanks for sharing! I miss San Francisco, it’s been a long time since i’ve been there with my family.

  6. viveka says:

    Wonderful caught …. love how the mist is rolling in over the city .. something I remember most about SF. Have a great weekend now.

  7. Pat says:

    Love your interpretation – yes, everything is relative and what is golden for us isn’t for everyone else. 🙂 I don’t get a golden hour in our neighborhood because tall trees block the late afternoon/evening sun so we are in shade not an evening glow.

    • Hi Pat … glad you liked this one. Actually, I live up there in the hills, right below that tower, and sometimes when I’m at home I don’t se anything but grey. It’s always nice to see it from this perspective.

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour | Memory Catcher

  9. Forest So Green says:

    Love your photo. I have recently started to photo the fog myself.

  10. Madhu says:

    Lovely, moody shot Stephen!

  11. ideflex says:

    Golden hour here is around 4:45 am/9:35pm in the summer so that limits photo ops – at both times pyjamas seem to be de rigeur… Love the way the fog looks like it has been swept up with a big broom!

  12. I recognized this location right away, being from San Francisco myself. I miss this great city! There is so much to photograph.

    • Hi there, Memory Catcher … where do you live now?
      I’m a transplanted Philadelphian. I’ve been in SF for 12 years and I never, ever want to live anywhere else (except, maybe, Sydney, Australia!)
      And you’re right … the city is like a big, inviting palette! There’s never a shortage of things to photography, or paint, or write about.

      • Hi Stephen, I live in Sacramento now. Every time I go into the city, I just wish I still lived there! Sally

        • Hi Sally. Wow … that’s a jump, and that’s not meant as a slight to Sacramento. I always have a good time when I visit friends who live there, maybe twice a year. But the vibe is different.
          I did it in reverse … I first moved to San Jose/Saratoga, and then moved to the City just as quickly as I could.

Leave a Reply

