Holy Happy Valentine’s Day, Batman!

Happy Valentine’s Day to everyone out there, if you’re so inclined. Me, I’m not the most romantic guy, and being somewhat cynical, I generally see Valentine’s Day as the ultimate Hallmark holiday: something invented by the corporations as a cash grab to guilt people into spending money to express a love or affection that should be expressed every day of the year, and not just on February 14 with a bunch of roses that cost $150 or dinner at a crappy, overrated four-star.

Hey, that’s just me. But if you’re into the whole traditional romantic aspect of Valentine’s Day with lots of hearts and cupids, I hope your day is full of love and kisses … and really expensive, calorie-laden chocolates.

Ooops … there I go again. Sometimes I just can’t help myself. However, lest you begin to think that I’m totally cold-hearted when it comes to Valentine’s Day, let me assure you that even I can appreciate a good Valentine’s Day card, especially when they feature Batman, and they’re really, really bizarre … like these.

Anyway, Happy Valentine’s Day everybody … not that there’s anything wrong with it.

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Batman, Humor, Thoughts and Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Holy Happy Valentine’s Day, Batman!

  1. Karen says:

    Some of those are hilarious! Whw wouldn’t be swept off their feet by a caped man in tights battling a green dragon? Happy Valentine’s Day!

    (P.S. As to the commercial aspect, I agree. I almost wrote a post about how a truly sincere, thoughtful, handwritten love letter would be a perfect Valentine, but that’s really all I had to say. So, as a day, it’s fine. As another commercial obligation, not so much.)

  2. Angeline M says:

    Oh Happy Valentine’s Day. You know you wanted someone to tell you that.
    SWAK,
    Angeline

    Ha! Now whata ya gonna do about that…

  3. Paula says:

    I share your views Stephen 🙂 I need no excuse to stuff myself with calorie-laden chocolates every day of a year 😀

  4. ideflex says:

    Love them! I was looking at some of these the other day on an unrelated google search – some of the cat girl ones from the 60s would probably be considered politically incorrect today….

  5. These rule. Retro Valentines are such a freak show; I can get lost looking at them FOREVER. They’re wrong and weird and sexually aggressive in all these cartoony ways. I’m grateful for the excellent kitsch, but in general I’m really bad at doing the Valentine’s Day thing. I think it’s all my time in the restaurant industry; it scarred me.

    • hey there, beyond paisley … yah, i can see that anyone who worked in the service industry might now be scarred forever!
      right with you on the kitschy retro Valentines cards. you’re right … they’re awesome for all the wrong reasons!

  6. viveka says:

    A bit late for saying Happy Valentine … but I think we all deserve a little romance during the whole year. Not a fan at all, even if I have a big soaking romantic heart. And Batman doesn’t do anything for me at all … George Clooney without the tights- has much bigger effect on me.

  7. Hoc est mihi says:

    I wish I had read this BEFORE Valentine’s! My comic collecting OH would have loved one of these 🙂

  8. Pingback: Happy Easter: WTF Edition | Stephen Kelly Creative

Leave a Reply

