The Pastoral Surrealism of Jacek Yerka

Don't Slam The Door

Born in Poland in 1952, Jacek Yerka studied fine art and graphics prior to becoming a full-time artist in 1980. While at university, Yerka resisted the constant pressures of his instructors to adopt the less detailed, less realistic techniques that characterize so much of contemporary art. Instead, he stubbornly continued to work in the classic, meticulous Flemish style he still favors to this day. In the end, it was his teachers who eventually relented, finally recognizing the talent of their determined student.

Bible DamThe pastoral atmosphere of the Polish countryside provides a solid foundation for much of Yerka’s art. However, it is his own uniquely evocative dreams that delineate the complex, often arcane imagery of his work. One need only glance at the luminous surfaces of Yerka’s canvases to perceive his adoration and resonance with the master painters of the 15th and 16th centuries, key factors in his surrealist development. Hieronymus Bosch, Pieter Bruegel, Hugo van der Goes and Jan van Eyck were powerful, early influences.

Yerka uses precise painting techniques and his many influences in his work, but he mainly relies on his unlimited imagination to create surrealistic compositions and landscapes that have a unique connection with the natural world. While pastoral, his work often portrays the sometimes-uneasy alliance between man and nature.

Check out the gallery after the jump, or visit his website to see more of the work of this visionary artist.

 

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to The Pastoral Surrealism of Jacek Yerka

  1. pattimoed says:

    Funny. I thought one of his works reminded me of the Autostrada and when I clicked on it, the title was “Ventimiglia.” How wonderfully whimsical, phantasmagorical and charming!

  2. You know what these art works remind me of? The book “Godel, Escher, and Bach.” How about you? The rivers that flow into the tops of buildings, the inside out buildings that are the substrates of forests…see what I mean?

  3. Pat says:

    I must be tired and punchy because I am finding these very amusing – down right chuckle out loud funny. Good ones to send me to bed with.😉

  4. Leya says:

    Reblogged this on Leya and commented:
    Impressive and …I want them all!

  5. Amy says:

    Thank you for introducing his arts!

  6. suej says:

    Very fascinating…

  7. Wow, I love these…..thanks for the introduction:-)

  8. Angeline M says:

    What a great imagination! And what a talented artist. As I went through the gallery I kept thinking that photo was my favorite, but then came the next one….

  9. Madhu says:

    Amazing talent!! Thanks yet again Stephen.

  10. Wow very surreal and trippy. You have some great artists on here.

    • Hi Etta … thanks for that. As you can see, I’m into the surrealists, so I’m always searching for new and interesting artists, or stuff I’ve never seen before. I really enjoy introducing artists to people who might not have otherwise seen their work.
      Hey, I just wanted to say I really like your blog. You’re a really inspired photographer. I’ve been to HK many time, and you really catch the spirit of that amazing city! Your black and white work is especially effective.

  11. cyardin says:

    I am loving these! A lot of surrealism has a dour tone to it, but there is an upbeat quality to this work. Great post Stephen!

  12. pommepal says:

    Beautifully detailed art, love the very first painting of the village on a rustic wave

Leave a Reply

