Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth

Here’s something you don’t see every day: a car growing from the side of a building! Looks like just another “only in San Francisco” moment.

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Photography, San Francisco, Stephen Kelly Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth

  1. Jo Bryant says:

    Don’t you just love it though…great image

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    That’s a great photo 🙂

  3. Pingback: WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: GROWTH « 2012 – ON THE BENCH

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth | Life of Colors

  5. jeanne says:

    Nice I terpretation!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth | Wind Against Current

  7. Myra GB says:

    I like this one! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Growth | Just Snaps

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Growth | Chittle Chattle

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth | Tay in Europe

  11. eof737 says:

    Excellent! 😉

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth « Jacqueline's Blog

  13. Pingback: Go, Grow, Glow | this man's journey

  14. sued51 says:

    Very creative take on the theme!

  15. Paula says:

    Pretty cool 😀

  16. Here in Memphis, someone would have just driven it into the side of the building. Fun shpot! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  17. Stephen, I may have missed this fact on your site somewhere, though I’ve been following you for a while now, but I just wanted to ask “Have you always lived in San Francisco, or did you move there as an adult?” It’s an interesting question in terms of all the things you find to share that are from there. You have a true eye for the unusual, and sometimes people get too used to their surroundings when they’ve lived there for a long time, and it makes them unable really to “see” what’s around them. But you either have naturally as a long-term visitor or have been able to adopt as an original native a keen eye for what is unusual or alien in your surroundings. (And thanks by the way for the follow! I can always use more readers!)

    • Hi Victoria … one thing you need to know about San Francisco is that nobody’s actually from here. It’s a city of transplants from around the world who just had to live in this amazing city … it’s that pull and that’s a big part of what makes living here so darned interesting.
      Typically, I’m originally from Philadelphia, PA and I moved to CA in 1990 when I was 21. I lived in a cool town near San Jose called Saratoga for five years, and then I moved to The City. That’s a typical pattern: move to the South Bay, work for a bit so you can afford the higher rents in SF and then make your move. And then you never look back and it’s like you’ve been living here all your life.
      As far as the way I see things, I don’t think that’s an east or west coast thing; I’ve always had an keen eye for the unusual, a penchant for the different. I like looking at the world in absurdist terms; sometimes it makes it easier to deal with it. As such, it’s easier for me to spot things that are kooky or out-there. I try to see the humor wherever I go!

Leave a comment