A-Z Challenge: The Letter P: Puddle Jumpers

I found this sculpture entitled “Puddle Jumpers” in a cool little green space directly underneath the Transamerica Pyramid in downtown San Francisco. To me it perfectly captures the joy and unbridled exuberance of childhood. They may be made of bronze, but those kids sure look they’re having fun!

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in A-Z Archive, Photography, San Francisco, Stephen Kelly Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A-Z Challenge: The Letter P: Puddle Jumpers

  1. petit4chocolatier says:

    How beautiful! They look so real! Kids being kids : )
    I love each of the shots, but especially love puddle jumper #4.

  2. Yes, and you’re having nearly as much fun sharing them (and we are having fun, too! It’s contagious!).

  3. danajoward says:

    Wonderful, fun post. Puddle Jumpers are unique and you can see they(the sculptures) were created to show fun and enthusiasm . Nice capture of “P” Puddle Jumpers! 😉

  4. Allan G. Smorra says:

    That is a great subject. I worked for a contractor in the Pyramid for nine years and never tired of seeing that sculpture.

    • Hey Allan … cheers, mate! I was making my way from North Beach, cutting through the Financial District on my way to Embarcadero MUNI station, took a shortcut through that nice little green area right under the Pyramid, and there they were! I had never seen them before, and I was just fascinated. So lifelike! Just goes to show … this city is full of surprises!

      • Allan G. Smorra says:

        Have you ever done anything with the sculpture down in Justin Hermann Plaza? I don’t get very often anymore but it is a great spot when the light is right.

        • Hi Allan … I have, but they’ve been doing work on the plaza and the fountain in the sculpture is neither running or lit up at night, and the sculpture itself is blocked off so you can’t get near it. I haven’t been there in a few weeks, but I’m guessing they want to have that work done before the annual holiday ice rink goes in sometime around Thanksgiving.

  5. pommepal says:

    These sculptures just burst with vitality

  6. Lovely blog you have here Stephen! and thanks for visiting mine… Sara

  7. Fergiemoto says:

    Cute!
    At first I thought it was going to be an airplane. I had to take a few puddle jumpers during my travel days.

    • Hi Fergiemoto … and, as usual, I appreciate you stopping by. I’ve taken a few puddle jumpers myself, mostly in Canada when a puddle jumper would take me from the Toronto airport to a hockey camp a hundred miles to the north. It’s an interesting experience … a little unsettling.

Leave a comment