A to Z Challenge: The Letter U: Ultraman!

This week, the letter U stands for Ultraman, seen here making a personal appearance in what appears to be the Ultraman store in Shinjuku, Tokyo. Hayata!

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in A-Z Archive, Japan, Photography, Stephen Kelly Photography, Tokyo, Video and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A to Z Challenge: The Letter U: Ultraman!

  1. frizztext says:

    thanks for your Tokyo report!

  2. This theme music matched with the freaky “monsters” is hysterical! I looked this up, curious when it was made (1960s). It’s really hard to believe that Japan has some of the lowest levels of drug use in the world.

  3. ideflex says:

    Ready to fight Godzilla, no doubt – looks like it’s superhero week! Love it.

  4. I have not been there .
    Though , I like Ultraman .
    Thank you for your sharing .
    I’d like to reblog to my Japanese post .
    Would you mind me ?

  5. petit4chocolatier says:

    You are so creative Stephen!! I have never seen Tokyo monsters! Thank you : )
    Unique video!!

    • hahaha! glad you liked it, Judy. I’m a total sucker for Japanese monster movies … the older the better. They’re so lo-tech, they’re awesome. It’s kind of neat to see what they did before CGI and computerized special effects. Some people call them cheesy, but I think they’re the ultimate in fun!

  6. Summerfield84's Blog でリブログ& コメント:
    英語ブログで知り合った、Stephenさんの記事です。
    海外でもウルトラマンシリーズは人気ですね。

  7. Happy Yuan says:

    I used to watch Ultraman on TV every week when I was very young. It reminds me of the era of high growth in Japan

    • Happy Yuan says:

      BTW, how did you know Ultraman? I thought only Japanese know him.

      • Hi Happy Yuan … glad you like my Ultraman post.
        I grew up in Philadelphia, a big city on the East Coast of the United States. The public TV station there showed international children’s entertainment on Saturday mornings, so I watched classic Ultraman and AstroBoy; they also showed a lot of comedies from England and Mexico and science fiction shows like Doctor Who. So I’ve loved Ultraman since I was a kid. I still love Ultraman.

Leave a Reply

