Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Statues

_ASC4350

Statues are everywhere around us, and this week’s Ailsa’s Travel Theme photo challenge gave me an opportunity to revisit some of the many statues I’ve seen in my own travels. Above is the impressive 80-foot (24 m) high concrete and steel statue of the Bodhisattva Avalokiteśvara at Ryozen Kannon in Kyoto, Japan. Here are other statues of varying sizes and styles from far-flung areas of the world!

 

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Ailsa’s Travel Theme, Japan, Photography, Stephen Kelly Photography, Travel, Travel Theme and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Statues

  1. Kongo says:

    Great statues, Stephen!

  2. The Hook says:

    I envy your talent and vision, Stephen.
    Well done.

  3. I love statues, or rather, thinking about the stories behind them. Just yesterday someone posted photos on Facebook of a descendant of Kunta Kinte’s emotional response to the statues at the Kunta Kinte – Alex Haily Memorial at Annapolis’ City Dock, the point where Kunta Kinte arrived in America. Incredibly touching.

  4. Colline says:

    I like the one of Bruce Lee.

  5. Pingback: Travel Theme: Statues | unexpectedincommonhours

  6. Paula says:

    An interesting collection Stephen, and some fantastic shots!

  7. Amy says:

    Very cool selection, Stephen! 🙂

Leave a comment