Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Endearing

Squidball Display in Odeiba, Tokyo

One thing I love most about visiting Japan is taking in all the cool, fun, cutesy things you see everywhere. From store packaging to advertising to the really interesting mini-sculptures you see in front of businesses of all types, everywhere you go you’re greeted by a smiling, happy icon, be it an orange elephant, an ice cream cone, a frog (or a lot of frogs), even an upset tummy. It’s hard not to smile when you see ’em, and that’s part of the reason I find visiting Japan so much fun. Here’s a small gallery of some cool cutesy stuff I’ve encountered in my various travel to Japan. Now if these aren’t endearing, I don’t know what is!

 

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Ailsa’s Travel Theme, Japan, Kyoto, Photography, Tokyo and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Endearing

  1. Very entertaining, Stephen. So Japan’s where you’ve been all this time! I’ve been waiting eagerly for another art post, but haven’t heard from you for a while. I hope you had a good time in Japan.

    • Hi Victoria,
      I wish I was in Japan … only dreaming of it for now. As of four weeks ago, my life went through a drastic change when, after six years of running my own little writing/editing business from my home, I went back into the full-time job realm, for many reasons which I hope to spell out in a blog post. The change has been amazing and much-needed, but I find my time is short now. I’ve pretty much settled into my new routine, so I hope to get back into blogging, even though I probably won’t be as prolific in the past.

  2. Pingback: Travel Theme-Endearing | WoollyMuses

  3. Impybat says:

    How is Japan so freakin adorable? I really want that ice cream. It would look good next to my giant plastic penguin.

  4. pommepal says:

    Aw…. so cute…

  5. Pingback: Travel Theme – Endearing |

Leave a comment