Weekly Photo Challenge: Oppression

I took this pic of an elderly Chinese woman at street fair in San Francisco’s Chinatown. As I look at her somewhat pensive face, I cannot help but imagine her backstory. Perhaps governmental or religious oppression forced her to leave her native China at a young age, to a place that hopefully offered a better tomorrow. Perhaps she’s also thinking of the relatives and friends she left behind, long dead and buried in a place she will never again call home.

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Photography, San Francisco, Stephen Kelly Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment