Strange World: The Fantastical Art of Michael Sowa

German artist Michael Sowa has long been one of my favorites. He creates bizarre worlds where animals (and sometimes food) take on human qualities. In his universe, a rabbit proudly show off his new boxer shorts, potatoes march in formation and pigs really can fly, in a manner of speaking. But there are also dark undercurrents to his work, a place where giant Easter Bunnies terrorize the countryside and where boats are tossed and stranded in the middle of an angry ocean. Whimsical, strange and thought-provoking — just the way I like it. Welcome to the strange world of Michael Sowa.


About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Art, Weekly Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Strange World: The Fantastical Art of Michael Sowa

  1. nonoymanga says:

    Wow Wow wee, fascinating arts!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

  2. There are brilliant! I love them! I’d never come across this artist before, thanks for the introduction!

    • hi gals … nice to hear from you again!
      you’re very welcome. i started my Thursday Artist posts as a way to introduce artists I admire to other people, so I love it when people connect. glad you like his work … as i said, he’s long been a favorite of mine.

  3. drewpan says:

    Wow I really like the stuff you introduce on your blog! The Big Buzzer painting reminds me of the “I want to believe” poster on Agent Mulder’s wall! And there are so many other cool works in there, like the sheep, the sad dog in the cone of shame… awesome!

    • hey drew … glad you liked his work, mate. i love it when animals take on human characteristics, and no one does that better than Michael Sowa.
      hehe … you’re right … Big Buzzer really does look like Agent Mulder’s poster!

  4. Addie says:

    What I would to walk an elephant!

  5. Madhu says:

    Weird and wonderful 🙂

  6. cocomino says:

    Great collection.Nice. 🙂

  7. Anita says:

    Does anyone have a tip for where I could find a quite large print of Sowa’s painting; Specht? I’ve looked everywhere it seems….

  8. I like all the artists you’re covering, I just wish that maybe the pictures selected were fewer in number so that you could make the pictures larger. Or am I mistaken and can I just click on them to make them larger? I’d like to see them better, particularly Carrington and Sowa. And thanks for covering them; it’s a real treat to be able to look at them at home and not have to tromp through an art gallery.

    • Hey there, shadowoperator … and a happy Friday to you, my friend! I always wrestle with how big to make the pics. I keep them at a certain size simply to keep the file sizes manageable. I load a lot of pics to my blog, and I don’t want to eat up the 3 GB upload limit. And I don’t want to shell out the bucks for the premium version of WordPress … not yet, at least. Will take that into consideration, though. Sometimes I think they demand to be bigger. Unfortunately, you can’t click on when the pics are in the slideshow format.
      Glad you like the galleries I post. It’s a lot of fun presenting the work of some of my favorite artists.

      • Actually, Stephen, I DID click on the pictures by Sowa and got a slightly larger view. I guess it works (who knows how?). Probably it’s just some sort of automatic function that has nothing to do with you using extra WordPress space (i.e., maybe it’s located in individual computers of people looking at your stuff). Just thought you might like to know; I didn’t want to grouse unfairly. It helped me see some of the strange animals and picture stuff that Sowa had painted. What a weird dude!

        • Hey, shadowoperator … cool, that’s good to know. Also, I’m sometimes at the mercy of the sources where I download them from. Sometimes those are the only sizes I can find. Not grousing at all … like I said, some work, particularly artists’ work like Sowa and Carrington, need to be seen bigger to truly appreciate the fine detail going on.

  9. Pingback: Kickin’ It Old School: The Classic Surrealism of René Magritte | Stephen Kelly Creative

  10. Pingback: Singing The Body Imperfect: The Art of Sarah-Jane Szikora | Stephen Kelly Creative

Leave a comment