A-Z Challenge: The Letter G: Golden Gai

Tucked away just under the railroad overpass in Tokyo’s bustling Shinjuku district
are six narrow alleyways known as Golden Gai. Lined with over 200 shanty-style restaurants, clubs and bars, it’s a real slice of old-time Tokyo just yards from the
ultra-modern glitz and bright lights of Shinjuku. There the food is authentic, the
beer is cold, and the atmosphere fun and lively, especially on a Friday night. It’s my favorite part of Tokyo.

   

   

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in A-Z Archive, Japan, Photography, San Francisco, Stephen Kelly Photography, Tokyo, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A-Z Challenge: The Letter G: Golden Gai

  1. Fergiemoto says:

    Great example! I have been to Japan a few times, but never Tokyo. I’d like to see this. Hopefully some day.

  2. Angeline M says:

    This looks like a great place. What an experience to be there!

  3. MattoMani says:

    I used to drink there at least once a week. Met some great people and great friends. I have some short stories that involve that place if anyone ever cares to read them shoot me a line on my blog. Maybe I’ll make them posts.

  4. MattoMani says:

    Also not to be a turd but I’m almost 100% sure that first picture you posted is not Golden Gai. It is in fact what is called Piss Alley. Its not part of golden guy it’s in Shinjuku but it is North of the station. Golden guy is more North east and several blocks away on the other side of the area and it is a separate neighborhood. I could be wrong but from what I can tell I seem to be right. There is another one of these alleys in shibuya and it’s the header of my blog so I would know. Either way they are both awesome. Just nitpicking.

  5. Sorry to contradict, but all of these were taken in the same area in Golden Gai on the same night … two blocks from the Shinjuku Prince Hotel where I was staying. I know of Piss Alley, but I’ve never been there.
    Also, as a photographer of integrity, I would NEVER try to pass off one of my photographs as something it’s not. Also, as someone who works as a writer and editor, I always get my facts straight.

  6. thank you for the Friday night tip!

  7. If that’s the case, that’s what they should call the San Francisco subway stations.

  8. Rosa says:

    Very interesting shots. Thx for introducing us to it

  9. Madhu says:

    Thank you for the tip Stephen. This comes at a very opportune time. I will be there in October!

    • Oh wow … that’s awesome, Madhu. Prepare for a mind-blowing experience. Don’t know if you’ve been there before, but Tokyo is everything you’ve heard… and much more. Oh, and the food is AMAZING!!!

  10. Mike says:

    top night photos.
    mike

  11. SakuraDreams says:

    Love it! Reminds me of when I lived there and used to eat in the same area with a close friend. Brought back memories – thanks!

Leave a comment