Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Animals

Say hello to the cassowary, a large, flightless bird native to northeastern Australia
and New Guinea. It is one of the strangest animals I have ever seen.

For more menageries, check out Ailsa’s Travel Theme at Where’s My Backpack!

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Ailsa’s Travel Theme, Animals, Australia, Photography, Stephen Kelly Photography, Sydney, Travel, Travel Theme and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Animals

  1. Are cassowarys edible? Please, Stephen, don’t assume that my carnivorous side is coming out (though they do look plump!). But are they endangered, or are they doing okay? I can’t say I’ve ever seen one before in a photo, though I do remember seeing some from a copy of some old illustrations in an outdated book from colonial times or something like that, not in color, but in sepia ink on brownish paper, sort of like the sorts of illustrations you see of the dodo and etc. That’s why I ask, because I can’t exactly remember.

  2. Hi Victoria … unfortunately, the cassowary is endangered in Queensland in northeastern Australia were they are prevalent, the victims of car accidents and dog attacks, primarily. They are also abundant in New Guinea. I’m not sure if they’re edible, but I suppose they could be. Like you said, they’re pretty plump!

  3. Impybat says:

    Cassowaries look so prehistoric!

  4. That is a very strange animal!

  5. pommepal says:

    great photo, they can be verydangerous, just look at those feet

  6. Jo Bryant says:

    They may not be edible but damn they are aggressive.

  7. Pingback: Travel Theme: Animals. « the unbearable lightness of being me.

  8. pommepal says:

    G’day Kelly You might like to have a look at these 2 posts, our cassowary encounters posthttp://pommepal.wordpress.com/2011/07/28/cassowary-comes-visiting
    http://pommepal.wordpress.com/2011/07/28/cassowary-video

    • Well, good on ya, gypsy woman! I saw your cassowary pic on Ailsa’s Travel Theme. Jack’s a brave man!!! I find them strange, but I also find them fascinating. Would love to see one in the wild (this pic was taken at Sydney Wildlife World).

  9. It is a little strange – the colors are interesting, though – how much do they weigh???

  10. Pingback: On World Animal Day: Spying A Squirrel | Simply Charming

  11. wopw what a strange bird lovely subhan Allah (GOD’s creation is great)

  12. Pingback: Travel Theme: Liquid | Alastair's Blog

Leave a Reply

