Everything’s Gone Green: The Eco-Surrealism of Josh Keyes

Element of hope, fear and the anxiety of our uncertain times, especially when it comes to the environment, are part of the unsettling visions of Portland-based artist Josh Keyes. His worlds are populated by wild animals of all sorts roaming landscapes of discarded man-made objects like cars, mailboxes and statues. But where are the people? Is this a vision of the end of the world as we know it, the apocalyptic shape of things to come?

Whether it’s deforestation, urban sprawl, our reliance on fossil fuels or simply the ways we interact about nature, Josh Keyes’ work beautifully points to the need for new holistic approaches to these problems. His art also speaks of the interconnectivity of everything on earth, and forces one to contemplate the effect mankind has had on the earth’s fragile eco-systems. In short, his work reflects a world out of balance, and reveals a closer look at the ongoing battle between nature and man’s urban encroachment.

His visually striking paintings and drawings are filled with scientific slices of animals and landscapes that seem to reveal an idealized autopsy of nature’s mysteries, and he uses these micro-landscapes and dissected ecosystems to great advantage in his work.

According to Mr. Keyes, “I am interested in the line, invisible or physical that divides the developed world from the natural landscape. I use fragments and dissection as a way to signify the objectification of nature. I feel that my work is meaningful, and yet it does not have a specific literal meaning. If there is any direct message in my work it is to draw attention to the complex interaction and overlay of urban development and the natural environment. I am also interested in describing the view or idea of nature as an expendable object.”

In spite of its post-apocalyptic undertones, it is clear Keyes has great faith that the natural order of the world will be restored. Whether mankind is part of that equation remains to be seen. Ladies and gentlemen, here’s the amazing eco-art of Josh Keyes.

 

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Art, Weekly Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Everything’s Gone Green: The Eco-Surrealism of Josh Keyes

  1. viveka says:

    What a fantastic post … you have done here about Josh and amazing art – but I don’t click with it at all – don’t know why. Maybe it’s not wired enough … ?????

  2. I think this artwork is fabulous. I get a sense of the nature just waiting to burst through urban environments – it’s the weed that grows on a busy sidewalk, but bigger and more extreme. Thanks for showcasing this artist!

    • Hi Michelle … and thanks for dropping by! I get the same feeling, that this is what it looks like when nature slowly takes over again … just like it was before all those people messed everything up. Glad you like this amazing artist!

  3. petit4chocolatier says:

    Stephen, I love surrealistic art and Josh Keyes is incredible with the eco surrealism! I am viewing each art piece posted and could keep searching and find more objects within the pictures. I love that. Thank you for sharing : )

    • Hi Judy … I just recently discovered the work of Josh Keyes, and I was really psyched to present his work to all my friend in the blogosphere. Like you, I couldn’t peel my eyes away … his work is beautifully layered.

  4. kz says:

    another amazing post! thank you for sharing^^

  5. Madhu says:

    Of all of these, the hermit grabbed me! Very striking artwork indeed.

  6. Very inspiring, and showing a new sense of how all nature is really connected (even animal to man-made pavement).

    • Hi Victoria! Exactly! That’s the overall impression I got when I first saw his work. I get the feeling that mankind is already gone and the animals have taken back what was once theirs. VERY interesting work. I really like his green angle.

  7. Pingback: Strange Juxtapositions: The Naturalistic Art Of Roland Tamayo | Stephen Kelly Creative

  8. Pingback: Self Portrait: Nirvana « Reply2Julian

Leave a Reply

