This Just In: The Intriguing Surrealism of Andrea Wan

Strange Daze
Hi everybody! I subscribe to many art-related blogs and websites, and that’s where I find many of artists I am fond of. And thanks to the website Visual News, I just recently discovered the interesting art of Vancouver-based surrealist Andrea Wan.

At this point, other than the fact that she works in pen, pencil and watercolor paints, I still don’t know too much about her background. But I do know that she hits a lot of chords in what I like in surrealists. At first glance her works looks dreamlike, almost childlike with a real sense of innocence, but just underneath lie grown-up themes and perhaps an element of malevolence. I’m attracted to the way she bridges those gaps.

Let’s discover the intriguing art of Andrea Wan together, shall we?

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Art, Weekly Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to This Just In: The Intriguing Surrealism of Andrea Wan

  1. fgassette says:

    I like her drawings. When studies each one carries a message. Thanks for sharing this wonderful artist.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. Pat says:

    What fun viewing her work, my surreal friend. I especially like the Film Making. Her work makes me feel good because of the whimsy but if I want to think I can study the symbolism. What a nice talent to have.

  3. I find the several different ways in which she uses horses in her pictures intriguing. You have really made a speciality of featuring surreal artists, haven’t you? What amazes me is how very different they can be from each other, and yet still all be classified technically as “surreal”!

  4. viveka says:

    Wired, but also wonderful …. this talks a bit to me. Dream on little Ghosts 8 would be my pick – you’re an master to find … all brilliant artist.

  5. Paula says:

    Andrea Wan, you say? I’ll try to remember the name 🙂 “Endurance” and “Aquariu– Gold fish” are the two that speak most to me 🙂 A really cool discovery Stephen. I have enjoyed your insightful introduction as usual.

  6. Very interesting. I love the Wait and Dream on Little Ghosts 12 the best, but they’re all fascinating. 🙂

  7. Impybat says:

    sloths with laptops!

Leave a comment