San Francisco Street Art: Volume 1

North Beach

As followers to my blog probably already know, I love street art. No matter where I go I’m always on the prowl for it, and I feel lucky to live in a city where it’s so prolific. From the grand to the simple, the ridiculous to the thought-provoking, the streets of San Francisco are a veritable art gallery.

Bush at Grant, Union Square

So here for your viewing pleasure are samples of the street art I’ve captured with various cameras over the course of the past few years. Some of these pics were taken last weekend while others were shot three years ago. I tried to pin down the actual street locations of these pics, just in case locals or visitors want to check them out. Alas, a lot of this art (and it is art) no longer exists, either painted over, or in some cases replaced with equally excellent street art. Like life itself, the walls and buildings of San Francisco are always evolving.

Oh, and as you might imagine, my archives are bottomless, and I’m always grabbing pics of stuff I see in my daily travels, so expect to see more San Francisco street art in the very near future!

About Stephen Kelly Creative

Hi, I'm Stephen Kelly, a writer, editor, photographer and graphic designer living in beautiful San Francisco, CA, USA. Amongst the things I love are writing, photography, movies, music, fitness, travel, Batman, all things Australian, food and fun, all of which I hope to reflect in this here blog. Welcome aboard ... now let's get busy!
This entry was posted in Art, Photo Essay, Photo Gallery, Photography, San Francisco, Stephen Kelly Photography, Street Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to San Francisco Street Art: Volume 1

  1. out10about says:

    These are great, loved the street art in San Fran. I looked back at some old photos and saw that I had shot part of the Piano man from a bus (on Columbus and Broadway). Your photo makes me realise what I was trying to shoot. Also some murals of whales down on Olive and Polk (??) and various vans and trucks that were painted also. Great collection!

  2. I’m not sure whether you work so hard that you don’t have time to play, or that you play so hard that there’s little time for work (actually, I suspect that you are such an enthusiastic and inspired soul that luckily for you work and play are one, which makes me envious). Lovely photos, Stephen, and I hope you will keep sharing!

    • hehe … actually, all of the above. it has always been my intention in life to make my hobbies my career and vice versa, and i’m always super proud that i’ve been able to do just that. my work is my play, and i never grow tired of it, and i suspect i never will.

  3. Pat says:

    These are amazing, Stephen. I don’t have this kind of talent so I can’t figure out how they do it. There are some portraits that are very well done. Thanks for sharing and I look forward to seeing more. 🙂

  4. Angeline M says:

    When I saw “Volume 1” I smiled………you’re gonna have a lot of volumes considering this City!
    And you’re right, the art changes, I think the one over Le Central is or was different when I saw it. Great post.

  5. Forest So Green says:

    I like the first photo since I like baseball. So I assume that one is not the typical graffiti, it must have been something “approved” prior to the creation?

    • Hi Annie. Many Giants-themed murals went up around the city after the World Series win, but I don’t believe any of them were officially sanctioned. The building behind this particular mural has since been demolished, so the mural didn’t last long.

  6. cocomino says:

    Interesting. There are similar arts in Tokyo.

  7. ideflex says:

    Props for archiving this great form of art – love the humorous ones!

  8. karmami says:

    beautiful collection of art work…Dan Francisco is my next vacation spot …always wanted yo go and now I have a chance to get away soon

  9. Paula says:

    Impressive street art, Stephen and so many wonderful examples of it 🙂

  10. Wow – these are amazing and great to see in areas I have not ventured in a long time!

  11. Pingback: San Francisco Street Art, Volume 2 | Stephen Kelly Creative

  12. Pingback: San Francisco Street Art #3: The Mission District | Stephen Kelly Creative

  13. Pingback: Tokyo On The Go: Street Art | Stephen Kelly Creative

  14. Jane says:

    There is definately a great deal to find out about this issue.
    I love all of the points you’ve made.

Leave a Reply

